HTML Generator

Web Content Display

History of the Club

History of the Club

The Alexandra Club has a rich history spanning over 120 years and a heritage that we proudly celebrate.

Since its inception, the Club has retained a strong and loyal membership through successive generations of women who have remained true to the Club’s traditions and to its stated social and non-political purposes.

The Club was founded in 1903 when the Wattle Club, a private members’ club for women, changed its name to the Alexandra Club in honour of Queen Alexandra.

It was first accommodated at 145 Collins Street, the original home of the Wattle Club. From there it moved to Nicholson Chambers, on the corner of Collins and Swanston Streets and then to the Neo-Gothic Metropolitan Gas Company building which adjoins St Paul’s Cathedral in Flinders Street.

In 1917, the Club purchased 139 Collins Street, an ornate building in the Victorian Mannerist style. These rooms offered Members a haven in the heart of the city where they could socialise, relax, dine and stay overnight. It was to remain the Club’s treasured home for over 60 years.

In 1981, the Club resolved to sell 139 Collins Street and to purchase a large 1930’s red brick building at nearby 81 Collins Street. The Club named the new premises Alexandra House and set about establishing its present clubrooms.

In recent times, the Club has completed a full refurbishment of its building, facilities and interior decoration, under the supervision of renowned international designer, Nina Campbell. These improvements have transformed the material fabric of the Club and enabled it to continue to provide Members with its traditional service and hospitality in comfortable, elegant and well-appointed rooms.